Help Center
Pay Bill

Find Answers to Your Questions

We make paying your bill easier by providing several ways to pay online. Click Your Bill to find out how. The Help Center makes the most commonly searched information available with one click.

West Sound Utility District is a special purpose district which provides water and sanitary sewer service to residential and commercial properties south and east of the City of Port Orchard, WA.

Commissioner's Corner

Board Meetings

West Sound Utility District (District), a municipal corporation organized under the laws of the State of Washington (Title 57 RCW). The District is governed by a three - member Board of Commissioners elected to six year terms. Regular Board meetings are held on the first and third Monday of the month at 3:00 p.m. in the Public Meeting Room. All meetings are open to the public as provided by law and agenda items are prepared in advance. 

Members of the Board are collectively responsible for establishing policy, adopting budgets, and providing vision and goals for the District. A summary of Board duties and responsibilities follows:

  • Provide public leadership by promoting representative, responsible and respectful governance: mediating conflicting interest while building a consensus; and communicating the District’s vision and goals to ratepayers.
  • Establish policy by adopting goals and objectives; establishing priorities; approving and/or amending the operating and capital budgets as needed; approving contracts, and adopting "resolutions" (the vehicle for establishing ongoing and formal policies that govern the District).
  • Appoint and supervise the District's General Manager. Conduct periodic performance evaluations.
  • Make decisions by studying problems, reviewing alternative, and determining the best course of public policy.

Each year at the first meeting in January, the Board selects a Chairperson, Vice Chairperson and a Secretary. The Chair of the Board serves as the presiding officer and acts as Chair at Board meetings. The Chair of the Board may participate in all deliberations of the Board in the same manner as any other members and is eligible to vote on all proceedings. The Chair of the Board does not possess any veto powers.

  • Commissioners may regularly attend Section II meetings.
  • Commissioners regularly attend Spring and Fall WASWD Conferences at various locals.

Jerry Lundberg

Jerry Lundberg


Jerry Lundberg was first elected as an Annapolis Water District Commissioner 1987. During his tenure, he has worked to maintain quality service at affordable rates. The District has experienced consistent growth for the past twenty (20) years and Jerry has been instrumental in having the District wells and storage tank upgraded to meet the demands of the community.

Jerry and the Lundberg family are committed to the Port Orchard community. In 2014 Jerry retired as Assistant Principal with more than twenty-five (25) years of teaching and counseling experience and where he was active in the high school sports programs.



Position #2
Term Expires - 2023

 Susan Way

Susan Way


Susan Way has been a water and sewer commissioner with both Annapolis Water District (2000) and Karcher Creek Sewer District (2005). Her priority is to keep West Sound Utility District responsive to its rate payers while preparing for its future state and federal obligations. With careful monetary controls, the District will continue to meet the stringent wastewater treatment standards.

Sue works at the Retsil Veterans Home in its Transportation Department and has raised her family in Port Orchard.



Position #3
Term Expires - 2021

James J. Hart

James J. Hart

Vice Chairperson

Jim Hart has been a Kitsap County resident for the majority of his life. He graduated from South Kitsap High School and then went on to work thirty (30) years at the Washington State Veteran’s Home in Retsil, WA. He also attended Washington State University to become a Master Gardener, as well as courses at Bates Vocational Institute on Water Quality and Wastewater Treatment.

Jim has extensive history as a Commissioner for both water and wastewater. He was first elected as Commissioner in 1975. He continues to be an elected official to this day.

Jim was selected as the "2006 Commissioner of the Year" by the Washington Association of Sewer and Water Districts.

Position #1
Term Expires - 2019